The Focus Collection
Database search -  Text search -  View all listings -  Browse by main performing artist
Recent additions -  All items in semicolon separated text format -  HOME

Click photo to enlarge


Original 1969 release (Imperial label) of the classic Brainbox first album. Jan Akkerman on guitar.

Year:  1969
Media:  Vinyl LP
Label: Imperial
Release no: SC054.24082
Manufactured: Holland

Musicians: Jan Akkerman (guitar/organ)
Andre Reynen (vibes/bass)
Pierre van der Linden (drums)
Kazimierz Lux (Kaz Lux) (vocals/percussion)
Tom Barlage (flute)
Rob Hoeke (piano)
Producer: Tim Griek
Engineer: Andre Hooning
Studio: Intertine Studios, Heemstede, Holland

Original 1969 release (Imperial label) of the classic Brainbox first album.

Liner notes:
Without any exaggeration Brainbox may be called the sensation of 1969! The extremely carefully choosen combination of the group is responsible for that. This all links up with the prevailing tendency to combine the talents, which are spread over certain pop-groups, to one strong formation.

The group has only been formed some months ago, but in those months it clearly appeared, that Brainbox can create music on a level, which is higher than most groups ever reach.

This long-play recording will add inexpressible strength to the above mentioned. The versatility of titles, the original interpretation and the exceedingly progressive attitude of each individual member makes this record an awe-inspiring document in the pop-culture today.

At the moment these words were being written, their single "Down man" is busy "knuckling down" the United States of America. The leading trade-journals Billboard and Cash Box unanimously are of the opinion, that this combination belongs to the best of today's pop-scene.

Let us hope, that this recommendation will result in the international acceptance for the most international sound of BRAINBOX!

Tracks: Dark rose (Lux/Akkerman)
Reason to believe (Hardin)
Baby, what you want me to do (Reed)
Scarborough Fair (Simon/Garfunkel)
Summertime (Gershwin)
Sinner's prayer (Fulson)
Sea of delight (Lux/Akkerman/Reynen/Linden)

Unique identifier: 288

Sorting code: bra-33-1969-brainbox-1969