The Focus Collection
Database search -  Text search -  View all listings -  Browse by main performing artist
Recent additions -  All items in semicolon separated text format -  HOME
  Cyril Havermans

Click photo to enlarge

Cyril debut album

On his debut LP, Cyril is fully backed by Jan Akkerman, Pierre van der Linden and Thijs van Leer, and presents a selection of his own material. German pressing.

Year:  1973
Media:  Vinyl LP
Label: MGM
Release no: 2315 261
Manufactured: Germany

Musicians: Cyril Havermans (vocals, acoustic guitar and bass)
Jan Akkerman (electric guitar)
Thijs van Leer (electric piano, flute, and organ)
Pierre van der Linden (drums)
John D'Andrea (piano)
Chuck Demonico (acoustic bass)
Emile Richards (percussion)

Background vocals by:
Jackie Ward
Andrea Willis
Maxine Willard
Producer: John D'Andrea
Engineer: Lewis "Pete" Peters
Studio: MGM Recording Studios, Los Angeles

Liner notes:

In the beginning five musicians gathered in Holland and formed a new group. They captured the ears of the Continent and England. They became the hottest and most progressive group in America.
The group is Focus.

The members of Focus are all individual and extremely accomplished musicians. One of the members was particularly interested in vocals and the fuller use of the voice, not only in lyrics, but as an additional instrument. Since FOCUS was primarily instrumental in approach, he decided to leave the group and explore on his own. The parting was amicable. The man is Cyril Havermans and he's out of Focus.

When MGM Records Senior Vice President Toni Scotti first heard Cyril's demos, he recognised a new force in music.

On his debut LP, Cyril is fully backed by his friends from Focus and presents a selection of his own material. He employs basic and primitive sounds with modern progressive forms and combines them into a completely fresh experience. Flute and full throttle guitars mingle with strings and an assortment of percussion instruments. The harmonic structure and polyrhythmic approach paints an aural picture. It is the work of a man who thinks individually about his music.

Tracks: A long line of goodbyes
A charm of love can be
Theme for an imaginary lady
Every day (just for you)
Share those dreams
Get yourself by
The humpbacked flute player
Lady sad song
There's a pain
Broken dreams

Unique identifier: 302

Sorting code: hav-33-1973-cyril-1973