The Focus Collection
Database search -  Text search -  View all listings -  Browse by main performing artist
Recent additions -  All items in semicolon separated text format -  HOME
  Various artists

Click photo to enlarge

Montreux Summit, vol. 2

Montreux Summit: Volume 2
Second double live LP from the 1977 Montreux Jazz Festival. Thijs van Leer plays flute on several tracks.

Year:  1978
Media:  Vinyl LP
Label: CBS
Release no: CBS 88286
Manufactured: Holland

Musicians: Greg Bowen
Jay Chattaway
Billy Cobham
Alan Downey
George Duke
Peter Erskine
Maynard Ferguson
Eric Gale
Stan Getz
Benny Golson
Dexter Gordon
Slide Hampton
Clifford Hardie
David Horler
Bobbi Humphrey
Bob James
Alphonso Johnson
Gordon Johnson
Steve Khan
Hubert Laws
Thijs van Leer
Stan Mark
Ralph MacDonald
Joe Mosello
Georffrey P. Perkins
Janne Schaffer
Woody Shaw
Producer: Jay Chattaway
Engineer: David Richards, Joe Jorgensen, Doug Epstein

Montreux Summit: Volume 2
This record was recorded live at the Montreux Jazz Festival in Switzerland on July 24 (and the early morning hours of July 25), 1977. Two double gatefold LPs were released that same year.

The album features some of the best fusion/jazz players of the late 1970's (all on the CBS label).

Tracks: Be Cool (George Duke) - 06:30
Two part invention (Bob James) - 10:01
The Moontrane (Woody Shaw) - 10:04
Red top (L. Hampton / B. Kynard) - 11:24
Kanon for flutes (Thijs van Leer) - 10:58
Rites of darkness (Steve Kahn) - 09:46
Night crawler (Rom James) - 15:36

Unique identifier: 546

Sorting code: zza_mon-33-1978-vol_2-1978